Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Dierig Receives Prestigious Honor

Highlands senior Cameron Dierig was recently honored by the Anthony Munoz Foundation for his accomplishments on the gridiron. He was named the Kentucky Defensive Lineman of the Year for the 2009 season. Dierig is currently being recruited by a number of NCAA Division II and Division III football programs.

Mueller Wins Anthony Munoz Coaching Award

Coach Dale Mueller of Highlands continues to amass honors following the Bluebirds' successful 2009 football campaign. He was recently awarded the Anthony Munoz Community Fund Coach of the Year.

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Highlands Contests Previous KHSAA Sanctions

The Fort Thomas Board of Education has submitted a letter to the Kentucky Board of Education formally challenging the Kentucky High School Athletic Association's 2005 ruling, which led to the following sanctions on Highlands: a fine of $1500, the forfeiture of 12 wins from the 2004 season, a three-year probation period, and a two-scrimmage/ two-game suspension of Coach Mueller.

The sanctions stemmed from questions regarding the eligibility of Michael Mitchell, a player who transferred to Highlands for the 2004-2005 academic year. Despite being ruled eligible to play sports for Highlands by the courts, the KHSAA imposed penalties on the school for allowing Mitchell to play.

The Bluebirds won the 2004 Kentucky Class AAA state championship. The team went 14-1 on the field, but had its record changed to 2-13 following the KHSAA's sanctions. Because Mitchell did not play in the state title game, the KHSAA maintained Highlands' 2004 state championship.

Highlands Football Signings

The following Highlands seniors have signed to play college football for the 2010 season:

Tyler Grubbs - Miami University (Ohio)
Austin Collinsworth - University of Notre Dame
Will Bardo - Dayton University
John Drennen - College of Charleston
Brandon Roller - Georgetown College

Monday, February 1, 2010

Highlands Football Awards Banquet Recently Held

The annual Highlands football awards banquet was held at the Syndicate in Newport, Kentucky on Sunday, January 31. This event was held to commemorate the 2009 football season. The following players were honored:

Austin Collinsworth - Most Valuable Player
Brandon Roller - Most Valuable Player
Tyler Combs - Mr. Highlands Football/Quinn Stapleton Award
Will Bardo - Mr. Highlands Football/Quinn Stapleton Award
Cam Dierig - Mr. Highlands Football/Quinn Stapleton Award
Hunter Schlosser - Mr. Highlands Football/Quinn Stapleton Award
Mark Snyder - Mr. Everything
John Drennen - Mr. Everything
Tyler Grubbs - Dominator
Nick Buten - Mr. Excitement
Tyler Fennell - Progress to Excellence
Kyle Welz - Progress to Excellence
Brian Beck - Red Dog Spirit Award
Colin Rosenhagen - Red Dog Spirit Award
Spencer Bankemper - Mitch Waldenmeyer Award
Travis Alford - Ron Welsh Award
David Hogue - Mitch Waldenmeyer Award
Ty Seidl - Underclassman Most Valuable Player
Austin Abner - Underclassman Most Valuable Player
Daniel Gold - Underclassman Mr. Highlands Football
Ryan Hahn - Underclassman Mr. Highlands Football
Keenan Wiegand - Junior Varsity Mr. Highlands Football
Brian Gall - Junior Varsity Mr. Highlands Football
Patrick Towles - Underclassman Most Valuable Player
Austin Sheehan - Junior Varsity Most Valuable Player
Jake True - Junior Varsity Best Offensive Player
Sam Chambers - Junior Varsity Mr. Highlands Football
Luke Dressman - Junior Varsity Best Defensive Player
Austin Bowling - Junior Varsity Progressing to Excellence
Donavan McCoy - Freshman Most Valuable Player
Blake Schutte - Freshman Best Defensive Player
Tyler Schweitzer - Freshman Best Defensive Lineman
Gabe Schulte - Freshman Best Offensive Lineman
Tyler Robinson - Freshman Excel to Excellence
Mitch Dee - Freshman Excel to Excellence
Reed Schroder - Freshman Excel to Excellence